Maya’s Corner Cafe – Istanbul – Tasty, cheap and well placed for tourists

When I travel I often get caught out needing something quick to eat. Whilst I am amongst the tourist attractions I find that cafes and restaurants will charge a premium due to their locality to the areas heaviest with tourists. Putting myself into this situation due to a lack of research and preparedness is one of things I berate myself over the most. At lunch time I just want a quick and cheap snack. Not a sit down meal with obligatory bread and the lure of a beer and an ice cream.

So to stumble upon a top quality and cheap place to eat only 3 minutes walk from Hagia Sophia in Istanbul was a stroke of luck.

Maya’s Corner Cafe is a very small hole in the wall type eatery which offers a small selection of healthy chicken doner wraps and salads. At the time I visited there was just one table for two outside which was taken, but I was invited to sit inside. This enabled me to watch closely as my Chicken Doner Wrap was lovingly but swiftly prepared. My travel partner had the same wrap but with roasted vegetables added. Both were delicious, though I would say that the wrap with the vegetables was better.

Also on offer are salads, a veggie wrap, fresh orange juice and teas and coffees. All at a very reasonably price and but a short stroll from Hagia Sophia, the Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque.

Maya’s Corner Cafe is located at Alemdar Mahallesi, Yerebatan Caddesi, No 25. Lunch for two cost around 20 Turkish Lira, which is roughly UK£5.50 or US$9.00.

Leave a Reply

